On Surrogacy, Power and Beyonce

beyonce_0It’s been the most consuming test of my entire life. I felt a failure, a caricature of a woman. The very core was paralyzed. With this feeling, I struggled for creating life.

We are all human and share in the same emotions. One person’s story shifts the way we understand the world. Imagine what it would be like if women who have been through loss were outspoken! How we could teach this world about truly cherishing each life!

In the new HBO documentary Life is But a Dream, Beyonce opens up about miscarriage, her relationship and surrogacy: “There’s a stupid rumor. The most ridiculous rumor I think I’ve ever had about me. It’s crazy. To think I would be that vain – I respect mothers and women so much and to be able to experience bringing a child into this world, if you’re lucky and fortunate enough to experience that, I would never, ever take that for granted. It’s the most powerful thing you can do. Especially after losing a child, the pain and trauma from that just makes it mean so much more to get an opportunity to bring life into the world. It seems like people should have boundaries,” says an emotional Bey.

Life Is But A Dream airs Feb. 16 at 9pm on HBO.

Via: USA Today

